The season that never was

Have just finished listening to my boys (Adelaide Crows) play their last footy match of season 2010.  We won the game, which makes it a total of 9 wins out of 22 matches for the year.  But considering the start to the season – six straight losses – a better result than I had feared.

The history of this season is bought home graphically to me every time I go to my fridge and see my ticks and crosses marked against the fixture.

Season 2010 - too many crosses

A cross is applied to the fixture with a definite finality – there will be no more thinking about that game!  While the tick gets added in a celebratory manner – somehow prolonging the joy.   This small ritual helps me though the highs and lows of being a footy fan.

Other footy fans will know exactly what I mean, and I am sure have rituals and habits of their own.

Non-believers however are bound to be bemused.

About julieinmelbourne

Live in Melbourne born in Adelaide, and thus love Cooper's Pale Ale, Haigh's chocolates and a good Mclaren Vale shiraz. But am now also addicted to 'good' coffee, wearing black, and footy at the MCG
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

