Not so easy after all

In an impulse moment, after attending a World Vegan Day event last week, I signed up to the Vegan Easy Challenge.  Basically the idea is to try to be Vegan for a month.

As I have been a vegetarian for several years now I thought how hard could it be to go the extra step and basically cut out eggs and dairy – if only for a month.  Plus there are prizes to win!

Well it has been  seven days, and I don’t think I’ve yet managed a full  vegan day.  Firstly I felt I needed to use up the remaining milk and yoghurt in the fridge – as I’m sure being a vegan doesn’t mean wasting food.  Then there are the days when I totally forgot I put milk in my coffee at work until I had drunk 1/2 cup; I’ve also realised too late that while I omitted  the cream, the underlying scone was likely to be made with butter. scones  Birthday cakes tend not to be vegan friendly, neither is eating at someone else’s place over the weekend.

Still I have managed nearly all my main meals as vegan.  Last night was a lovely bean dish, with soy cream cheese (see picture).  Tonight I had West African Chickpea Cakes, served with vegies and a tasty peanut coconut sauce.

bean taco and salad

tasty & vegan

I might just make a full vegan day (or two) before the month is out.

About julieinmelbourne

Live in Melbourne born in Adelaide, and thus love Cooper's Pale Ale, Haigh's chocolates and a good Mclaren Vale shiraz. But am now also addicted to 'good' coffee, wearing black, and footy at the MCG
This entry was posted in Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not so easy after all

  1. Dingo250 says:

    I love being a vegetarian. I think it has a link to higher consciousness. Take a look at TheGreaterReality.com.

Leave a Reply

