Glad I went

On an impulse I put on a bright orange top and went to a Climate Change rally.  I’m glad I went and became one of the estimated 30,000 happy people who turned up.  It’s easy to get discouraged, but taking action (no matter how small) is empowering.

The organisers suggested wearing heatwave coloured clothes – red, orange, pink.   I chatted to a woman named Barbara wearing a pink shirt that she normally would only wear in her garden.  Ditto me and my orange top.

large number of people at rally

I’m there somewhere

There were a variety of speakers, with Adam Bandt (Member for Melbourne) delivering the memorable line “Tony Abbott is a climate change Chamberlain when we need a climate change Churchill”

About julieinmelbourne

Live in Melbourne born in Adelaide, and thus love Cooper's Pale Ale, Haigh's chocolates and a good Mclaren Vale shiraz. But am now also addicted to 'good' coffee, wearing black, and footy at the MCG
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

