Driving me crazy #blogjune

I love my new job which I started about 18 months ago, but it has taken me almost as long to cope with the drive to work.   Whoever said ‘life is the journey not the destination’ wasn’t stuck on the Ring Road between Furlong Road and Sunshine Avenue on a Friday evening!

cars in multi-lane freeway

Driving cars in a traffic jam. Photo by epSos .de on flckr

Over this period I have attempted a variety of coping mechanisms,  they range in effectiveness (from least to most) as follows.  During the course of any commute I will sometime use all of them.

  1. Using the time to learn a new language via audio book
  2. Listening to talk back and news radio (increases stress)
  3. Listening to ‘easy listening’ radio stations (hello SmoothFM, but a bit too much Buble)
  4. Altering attitude (e.g. grateful I have a car that works, travelling on roads that are maintained, a job and a home to go to, the person who just cut me off must be a troubled soul who needs my sympathy and isn’t a jerk)
  5. Consciously breathing and being in the moment when I feel the stress levels rise – Ahhh
About julieinmelbourne

Live in Melbourne born in Adelaide, and thus love Cooper's Pale Ale, Haigh's chocolates and a good Mclaren Vale shiraz. But am now also addicted to 'good' coffee, wearing black, and footy at the MCG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Driving me crazy #blogjune

  1. kridwyn says:

    I do an hour each day – long enough when there’s three cherubs in the back seat! When they’re quiet, or when I’m alone, I use the time to make on phone calls to friends I haven’t caught up with for a while. Bluetooth means it’s like they’re sitting in the seat beside me, and I also get to spend the time with them that I want to, rather than being rushed due to kids / appointments, etc. I like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

