Would you like fines with that? #blogjune

You know the saying about cobbler’s children being unshod,  well I think librarians are amongst the main offenders of overdue library books, but maybe it’s just me?  According to Patrick Cook’s (1983) Favourite names for boys & girls  “St Julie aids the victims of library fines” 🙂overdue stamp

As I have just returned from paying off some overdue fines at my local library I did wonder why we have not experimented more with other possibilities for the overdue fine.  I then found this  blog post that raises some interesting alternatives; ranging from “no fines” to a sort of “work for the fine” option.  My favourite however would be the “pay what you want” concept.  A concept I’ve seen work in a cultural institutions (MoMA) and a restaurant (Lentil as Anything).

From my time in public libraries a while ago, I know that offering an amnesty on fines does bring back “lapsed”clients.  Perhaps there are ways to stop them becoming lapsed in the first place.

About julieinmelbourne

Live in Melbourne born in Adelaide, and thus love Cooper's Pale Ale, Haigh's chocolates and a good Mclaren Vale shiraz. But am now also addicted to 'good' coffee, wearing black, and footy at the MCG
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

